For The Brighter Days Ahead…

I have been thinking about posting about this topic for a couple of days now but I had something else in mind. I kept pushing the topic of thinking that no one would want to read about such a sensitive topic.  The thought of posting this has not left my mind and today in the car on the way home, I decided I was going for it. Yes, I had some beauty favorites post planned but I think this is so important, especially to me. Sometimes, you have to speak out about things despite the popularity of it all. I want to be real with you guys and try to help as many of you as I possibly can. A little disclosure, I am no expert in any of this but something has to change, awareness needs to be heightened. This post is all about suicide, mental health, and the dangers of bullying. Last Thursday (I believe it was), a young man, Daniel Joseph Fitzpatrick, took his own life from the results of bullying. He was only 13 years old, just 13!

A lot of people say “kids will be kids” or “don’t be so sensitive” but the reality of it all is, why are other people attacking and humiliating others to make themselves feel better? By no means am I trying to put anyone down or bully anyone myself but this needs to stop. The word ‘suicide’ is used like a curse word in today’s society. There is not enough light shed on mental health at all. This young man Daniel is among several who have just felt hopeless and that there was no other way out. Suicide has effected my family and I personally; it is the most world shattering experience I have ever went through (another post for another day). A lot of the time when someone with depression, etc. reaches out to someone for help, they’re told that others have it worse than them, to just get over it. Get over it? No one should ever be made out to feel like less of a person because of the way they look or for any reason period. When you’re a teenager (in some cases), you feel you’re alone and that the world just is such a harsh place. You’re going through all the changes and if you’re being bullied, it makes it so much worse. Schools do not bring enough awareness to mental health or bullying at all.

I am here to say that if you reading this or anyone that you know is struggling with mental health, it is going to get better! Maybe not today or tomorrow but eventually. You are more than the words thrown in your face to make you feel worthless, YOU ARE PRICELESS! You can NEVER be replaced. You have a purpose and a place in this world, no matter how terrible it seems. This world is so much brighter with you in it. You are far from alone, I can promise you that. This is not a small problem with a certain country, it’s a world problem! 800,000 die by suicide each year, 800,000!! 

I am no longer afraid to speak up, I am still healing and maybe by showing that even in the darkest time of my life I can speak out, someone else will too. For a long time I thought that by not talking about it, that I could ignore it. The weight of my silence was way too heavy for me to carry any longer; I cannot ignore the pain I feel from losing my little brother or the pain I feel when I know that there are more people out there struggling. I choose to speak up and not care if it’s cool. I want to speak up for the people who feel like they do not have a voice to. There has to be a better way to handle bullying; instead of brushing it off and telling the victim to just “grow up and get over it”. Everyone person deserves tomorrow, they deserve to know what real love feels like, they deserve to feel the sun on their lovely faces when they’re old and gray. So hold on, hold on for the hope that this movement will change everything for the better. Hold on for the brighter days ahead.

There will more than likely be more posts like this, as I said before mental health is very important to me. This post was just something I have been putting off and I couldn’t put it off any longer. Something needs to change for our world, for our people. For our future generations to come. And in addition to this, I just want to express my deepest condolences to the Fitzpatrick family and friends. There are no words to express how truly sorry I am for your loss. Just do not give up. Thank you guys so much for reading this and for the support I’ve received from my previous posts. Below is my contact information and also some information pertaining to this post.

            XOXO LOVE, LEE

 

 

Contact

TO Write Love On Her Arms Website: https://twloha.com/

(To Write Love on Her Arms is a nonprofit movement dedicated to presenting hope and finding help for people struggling with depression, addiction, self-injury, and suicide. TWLOHA exists to encourage, inform, inspire, and invest directly into treatment and recovery.)

*Guys check this site out, if educates and helps others feel like they are no longer alone!*

 

5 thoughts on “For The Brighter Days Ahead…

  1. Pingback: Thank You | Love, Lee

Leave a Reply

